Data Broker Removal Service vs DIY Opt-Out Tools

Published

Short answer. A paid removal service saves you time on a long, repetitive list. Free tools cover much of the same list if you’ll spend the hours. Neither gets everything, and neither is a one-time fix, because records come back. What you’re buying is time and follow-through, not a result.

I work as a privacy broker, so I have an interest in this question. I have no financial relationship with any service named here. Prices below are from October 22, 2026.

What a removal service does

You give it your details. It finds listings on data broker and people-search sites, files opt-out requests, and rechecks later. Cheaper plans are automated. Pricier ones add a human who handles special cases. The limit is that some opt-outs need you to confirm by email or phone, which no intermediary can do for you, and the service’s coverage list only covers the sites it chose to include.

Listed prices, October 22, 2026

Service Price Coverage as the vendor states it Human involved?
Incogni Standard $7.99/mo, $95.88 billed annually 420+ broker sites Automated
Incogni Unlimited $14.99/mo, $179.88 billed annually 420+ plus 3,000+ more via custom removals Custom removals by specialists
Incogni Family (up to 5) $15.99/mo, $191.88 billed annually 420+ sites Automated
Optery Core $39/year 380+ sites No assigned agent
Optery Extended $149/year 555+ sites Assigned human agent
Optery Ultimate $249/year 625+ sites Assigned human agent
Optery Basic Free Self-service scans No
Kanary Core $250/year, family members $125 Not stated as a count Managed removals listed
Kanary Advanced $500/year, family members $250 Not stated as a count Managed removals listed
EasyOptOuts $19.99/year 200+ sites Automated
Privacy Bee About $8, $16 or $67 a month on the three tiers, as the vendor states, billed annually 607 to 1,437 sites depending on tier Analysts on higher tiers
DeleteMe $129/year for one person, per security.org (updated October 2, 2026) Vendor gives no count Every plan includes an assigned expert

Prices change. Double-check them on each vendor’s page before you buy.

Free and DIY options

The real cost of DIY

Hours, mostly. The list is long, each site has its own form, some want confirmation, and you need to come back to recheck. A person who does this once and stops will find listings reappearing within months. If your time is worth more than the service fee and you’re not in a high-risk situation, paying is reasonable.

Choose DIY when

Choose a paid service when

Choose a human when

In that last case the cost is different in kind. Adelmann Cybersecurity quotes per engagement and publishes no prices. The comparison with a general security consultant lists third-party rates.

What none of them can promise

Anyone offering you a guarantee is either ignorant or deceitful. My own view, from the kidnapping article, is that software companies “will not get everything.” If someone hires a professional firm to do removals, the firm will need some participation from you. If not, you are being taken advantage of.